Government response Home Office: Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) (Jan 2025)
Delivery Home Office says completed (Jan 2025)

Recommendation 14: Prohibit handcuffing behind back while seated

From The Brook House Inquiry Report, published 19 September 2023.

Recommendation

The Home Office and contractors operating immigration removal centres must ensure that all staff are aware that the technique of handcuffing detained people with their hands behind their back while seated is not permitted, given its association with positional asphyxia.

Jurisdiction: England

In brief (written by this site)

In January 2025, Minister of State Dame Angela Eagle stated in a written parliamentary answer that this recommendation was accepted or partially accepted and was "met and closed as of October 2024" (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025). The Home Office had previously reported in March 2024 that it had communicated to all immigration removal centre and contractor staff that handcuffing individuals behind their backs while seated is not permitted, and that a new Detention Services Order on use of force was under development (Home Office response, Mar 2024).

AI-generated summary of the record on this page, checked by a second model and automatic checks, 26 Sep 2026. The record below is the sources' own words.

About this summary

This recommendation applies across many organisations. The record reflects central policy activity; adoption in individual organisations may vary.

Government response

Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) Home Office
15 Jan 2025
Words of: Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State, Home Office, written answer to Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, House of Commons, 15 January 2025 (UIN 23170)

30 out of the 33 recommendations made by the Brook House Inquiry have been accepted or partially accepted.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: The written answer gives this sentence once, for 30 of the 33 recommendations together: every recommendation except 7, 19 and 30, which it says were rejected. It does not say which of the 30 were accepted in full and which in part, so the site records "Accepted, fully or in part (not specified)". The same words are recorded on recommendations 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32 and 33. Recommendations 1, 2 and 3 are among the 30 but are not given this row, because the Minister's letter of 22 May 2025 states a position on each of them.

Earlier statement from Home Office (1)
Under consideration Home Office
19 Mar 2024
Words of: Home Office, Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre (CP 1041), March 2024

6.6.3. The Home Office has been working closely with HM Prison and Probation Service (HMPPS), NHS England and the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) to ensure expert input into consideration of these recommendations. The use of force is an unfortunate but necessary tool to maintain the safety and security of both those detained and staff, but we note the report findings into the use of dangerous techniques. The Home Office has communicated to all IRC and contracted service provider staff that techniques involving hand cuffing behind backs whilst seated is not permitted. A new DSO in relation to use of force is being developed in consultation with experts, and training around use of force reviews is under development. This will go hand in hand with an overhaul of existing assurance processes, including the introduction of an escalation system to better facilitate the communication of concerns.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: CP 1041 is organised by ten key issues, not by recommendation, and states no position on any individual recommendation. Its only general statement of acceptance is that "The government has carefully considered and accepts the broad thrust of the recommendations". The words "in principle" do not appear anywhere in the document.

Delivery

Home Office says completed (15 January 2025)

12 recommendations (recommendations 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 14, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26) met and closed as of October 2024

From: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)

Site note: One written answer of 15 January 2025 addresses all 33 recommendations in groups: it names each recommendation in one of four groups and says nothing further about any of them individually. It does not say which of the 30 it describes as "accepted or partially accepted" were accepted in full and which in part.

Site note: The source gives this passage once, for the 12 recommendations it describes as met and closed. The same words are recorded on recommendations 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 14, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26.

Source

Report The Brook House Inquiry Report 19 Sep 2023

Responsible bodies

Home Office Primary

Who has spoken

  • Home Office
    Response, delivery statement
Recommendation made 3.1 years ago