Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin

Jalal Uddin Inquiry

Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin, an Islamic teacher killed by two Islamic State supporters in Rochdale in 2016.

Read the full description

Inquiry into the murder of Jalal Uddin, an Islamic teacher killed by two Islamic State supporters in Rochdale in 2016. Examined police investigations into the perpetrators prior to the murder. Found the killing constituted an act of terrorism. No recommendations made.

Where it stands

Public hearings were held on 4 days between December 2023 and September 2024. Report of the Inquiry into the Death of Jalal Uddin was published on 10 July 2025. The inquiry made no formal recommendations.

ChairHHJ Thomas Teague KCJudge / Judiciary
Commissioned byHome Office
Established9 Nov 2023
Final report10 Jul 2025
Duration1 year, 8 months
Total reported cost£1.1m
Announced 9 Nov 2023
Hearings 23 Sep 2024 · 4 sitting days
Final report 10 Jul 2025

Reports & recommendations

Reports →

Chair explicitly stated no public recommendations were made. Any recommendations are in a closed report to the Home Secretary.

1 report on the Reports & recommendations tab.

Latest evidence

All 23 documents →
Transcript 25th September 2024
Hearing Transcript · 25 Sep 2024
Transcript 24th September 2024
Hearing Transcript · 24 Sep 2024
Transcript 23rd September 2024
Hearing Transcript · 23 Sep 2024
Transcript_07.12.23
Hearing Transcript · 7 Dec 2023

Costs

Total reported cost £1,095,614

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: not stated.

Source published: 13 Apr 2026.

House of Commons written answer Q124133, published 13 Apr 2026, says the Jalal Uddin Inquiry reported on 10 Jul 2025, is now closed, and its costs are £1,095,614. The question asks for total public cost to date. The answer does not state an accounting start/end cutoff or breakdown, so both accounting dates and all category fields are NULL. Source publication date is not used as an accounting cutoff. This is a reported to-date amount, not a claim of final settled expenditure.

Commons written answer Q124133, 13 Apr 2026: costs to date; accounting cutoff unstated

Breakdown and notes