Government response Home Office: Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) (Jan 2025)
Delivery Home Office says completed (Jan 2025)

Recommendation 4: Ensure reasonable internet and computer access for detainees

From The Brook House Inquiry Report, published 19 September 2023.

Recommendation

The Home Office and its contractors must ensure reasonable access to computers and the internet. Contractors must comply in full with Detention Services Order 04/2016: Detainee Access to the Internet, in particular: Computers and the internet provided for detained people's use must be maintained and fixed, if broken, within a reasonable time period, in order to allow detained people to access the internet for a minimum of seven hours per day, seven days per week. Websites containing personal internet-based email accounts must not be blocked, since this is not a prohibited category of website. Websites facilitating the provision of legal advice and representation must not be blocked, as this is not a prohibited category of website.

Jurisdiction: England

In brief (written by this site)

In a January 2025 written parliamentary answer, Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State at the Home Office, stated that recommendation 4 had been accepted or partially accepted and was among twelve recommendations "met and closed as of October 2024" (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025). The department previously stated in its March 2024 response that all service contracts require adherence to Detention Services Orders, including mandatory provision of and regulated access to information technology equipment and internet services, backed by the ability to impose fines (Home Office response, Mar 2024).

AI-generated summary of the record on this page, checked by a second model and automatic checks, 26 Sep 2026. The record below is the sources' own words.

About this summary

This recommendation applies across many organisations. The record reflects central policy activity; adoption in individual organisations may vary.

Government response

Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) Home Office
15 Jan 2025
Words of: Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State, Home Office, written answer to Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, House of Commons, 15 January 2025 (UIN 23170)

30 out of the 33 recommendations made by the Brook House Inquiry have been accepted or partially accepted.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: The written answer gives this sentence once, for 30 of the 33 recommendations together: every recommendation except 7, 19 and 30, which it says were rejected. It does not say which of the 30 were accepted in full and which in part, so the site records "Accepted, fully or in part (not specified)". The same words are recorded on recommendations 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32 and 33. Recommendations 1, 2 and 3 are among the 30 but are not given this row, because the Minister's letter of 22 May 2025 states a position on each of them.

Earlier statement from Home Office (1)
Under consideration Home Office
19 Mar 2024
Words of: Home Office, Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre (CP 1041), March 2024

6.2.2. Access to activities and regime are important factors built into new service contracts. All service contracts require adherence to DSOs including the mandatory provision of and regulated access to IT equipment and internet services. The Home Office has an ability to impose fines if these obligations are not met.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: CP 1041 is organised by ten key issues, not by recommendation, and states no position on any individual recommendation. Its only general statement of acceptance is that "The government has carefully considered and accepts the broad thrust of the recommendations". The words "in principle" do not appear anywhere in the document.

Delivery

Home Office says completed (15 January 2025)

12 recommendations (recommendations 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 14, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26) met and closed as of October 2024

From: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)

Site note: One written answer of 15 January 2025 addresses all 33 recommendations in groups: it names each recommendation in one of four groups and says nothing further about any of them individually. It does not say which of the 30 it describes as "accepted or partially accepted" were accepted in full and which in part.

Site note: The source gives this passage once, for the 12 recommendations it describes as met and closed. The same words are recorded on recommendations 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 14, 18, 22, 23, 24, 25 and 26.

Source

Report The Brook House Inquiry Report 19 Sep 2023

Responsible bodies

Home Office Primary

Who has spoken

  • Home Office
    Response, delivery statement
Recommendation made 3.1 years ago