Government response Home Office: Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) (Jan 2025)
Delivery Home Office says in progress (Jan 2025)

Recommendation 32: Strengthen Independent Monitoring Board statutory footing and responsiveness

From The Brook House Inquiry Report, published 19 September 2023.

Recommendation

The government must: respond to and publish responses to all concerns raised by any Independent Monitoring Board regarding immigration removal centres; take steps without further delay to amend the Detention Centre Rules 2001, in so far as they govern Independent Monitoring Boards, in order to accurately reflect their current role; and consider whether to put the National Chair and Management Board of the Independent Monitoring Boards on a statutory footing.

Jurisdiction: England

In brief (written by this site)

In January 2025, Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State at the Home Office, stated in a parliamentary written answer that the recommendation was accepted or partially accepted and was "on track for closure by summer 2025" (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025). Previously, in March 2024, the department noted that the Ministry of Justice intended to pursue statutory footing for Independent Monitoring Boards when parliamentary time permits (Home Office response, Mar 2024). The record holds no update since the Home Office's response of January 2025 (Dame Angela Eagle response, Jan 2025; Dame Angela Eagle, Jan 2025).

AI-generated summary of the record on this page, checked by a second model and automatic checks, 26 Sep 2026. The record below is the sources' own words.

Government response

Accepted, fully or in part (not specified) Home Office
15 Jan 2025
Words of: Dame Angela Eagle, Minister of State, Home Office, written answer to Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, House of Commons, 15 January 2025 (UIN 23170)

30 out of the 33 recommendations made by the Brook House Inquiry have been accepted or partially accepted.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: The written answer gives this sentence once, for 30 of the 33 recommendations together: every recommendation except 7, 19 and 30, which it says were rejected. It does not say which of the 30 were accepted in full and which in part, so the site records "Accepted, fully or in part (not specified)". The same words are recorded on recommendations 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32 and 33. Recommendations 1, 2 and 3 are among the 30 but are not given this row, because the Minister's letter of 22 May 2025 states a position on each of them. Recommendation 32 is addressed to the government; this is the Home Office's answer, so the site records it under the Home Office.

Earlier statement from Home Office (1)
Under consideration Home Office
19 Mar 2024
Words of: Home Office, Government response to the public inquiry into Brook House Immigration Removal Centre (CP 1041), March 2024

6.10.2. The report highlighted the lack of statutory status for the National Chair and Management Board of the IMBs. In the Prisons Strategy White Paper (2021), the Ministry of Justice (MoJ) committed to pursue legislative reform that will provide the relevant arm’s length bodies, including the IMBs, with the statutory framework needed to undertake scrutiny activity as effectively as possible. The MoJ intend to legislate as soon as Parliamentary time allows.

How this response relates to the recommendation

Site note: CP 1041 is organised by ten key issues, not by recommendation, and states no position on any individual recommendation. Its only general statement of acceptance is that "The government has carefully considered and accepts the broad thrust of the recommendations". The words "in principle" do not appear anywhere in the document.

Delivery

Home Office says in progress (15 January 2025)

the remaining 13 (recommendations 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 31, 32 and 33) on track for closure by summer 2025

From: Mistreatment of Detainees at Brook House Immigration Removal Centre Inquiry (written question UIN 23170)

Site note: One written answer of 15 January 2025 addresses all 33 recommendations in groups: it names each recommendation in one of four groups and says nothing further about any of them individually. It does not say which of the 30 it describes as "accepted or partially accepted" were accepted in full and which in part.

Site note: The source gives this passage once, for the 13 remaining accepted recommendations. The same words are recorded on recommendations 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 31, 32 and 33.

Source

Report The Brook House Inquiry Report 19 Sep 2023

Responsible bodies

UK Government Primary

Who has spoken

  • Home Office
    Response, delivery statement
Recommendation made 3.1 years ago