The Dawn Sturgess Inquiry
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry
Public inquiry into the death of Dawn Sturgess, who died in July 2018 after being exposed to the nerve agent Novichok in Amesbury, Wiltshire.
Read the full description
Public inquiry into the death of Dawn Sturgess, who died in July 2018 after being exposed to the nerve agent Novichok in Amesbury, Wiltshire. The poisoning was linked to the attempted assassination of Sergei and Yulia Skripal in nearby Salisbury.
Where it stands
Public hearings were held on 31 days between March 2022 and December 2024. Dawn Sturgess Inquiry report was published on 4 December 2025. The inquiry made no formal recommendations.
Reports & recommendations
Reports →Report published December 2025 with no formal recommendations. The inquiry chair concluded that making recommendations was not within the inquiry's remit. Family and campaigners criticised this decision.
1 report on the Reports & recommendations tab.
Latest evidence
All 959 documents →Costs
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 (Total to Date / cumulative lifetime costs)
Source and qualifications
Accounting period: start not stated; to 30 Sep 2025.
Breakdown and notes
Cost history (2 reports)
| Period | Total | Inquiry Legal | CP Legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2025 | £589,227 | - | - |
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2025 to 30 Sep 2025. Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 |
| Sep 2025 (cum.) | £8,030,881 | - | - |
Dawn Sturgess Inquiry Financial Report - April 2025 – September 2025 (Total to Date / cumulative lifetime costs) Source and qualificationsAccounting period: start not stated; to 30 Sep 2025. |