Independent Inquiry into the issues raised by the David Fuller case

Fuller Inquiry

Inquiry into mortuary abuse by David Fuller at NHS hospitals.

Read the full description

Inquiry into mortuary abuse by David Fuller at NHS hospitals. Fuller sexually abused the bodies of at least 101 deceased women and girls. Phase 1 examined Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust; Phase 2 examined nationwide safeguards for the deceased.

Where it stands

The inquiry has published 3 reports, most recently Fuller Inquiry Phase 2 Report on 15 July 2025. The most recent government response on the record is Interim update on government progress in responding to the Fuller inquiry phase 2 report, dated 16 December 2025.

ChairSir Jonathan MichaelOther
Commissioned byDepartment of Health and Social Care
Established8 Nov 2021
Final report15 Jul 2025
Duration3 years, 8 months
Total reported cost£3.8m
Announced 8 Nov 2021
Terms of reference 23 Feb 2022
Phase 1 report 28 Nov 2023
Phase 2 interim report published (HC… 15 Oct 2024
Final report 15 Jul 2025
Recommendations 92 tracked

Reports & recommendations

All 92 recommendations →
92 recommendations across 2 reports

Government response

Latest statement by addressee
Department of Health and Social Care says in progress: 49; another body’s finding on record for 4
Department of Health and Social Care states no delivery position: 16; another body’s finding on record for 2
No statement from Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust found in the sources searched: 16
NHS England says in progress: 4
No statement from Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government found in the sources searched: 3
No statement from Human Tissue Authority found in the sources searched: 1
Human Tissue Authority says completed: 1
No statement from Kent County Council found in the sources searched: 1
No statement from Ministry of Justice found in the sources searched: 1

"No statement found" means none was found in the sources searched, last checked 5 February 2026. Each figure is the latest statement from the body the recommendation is addressed to. Other bodies’ findings are shown on each recommendation and do not change these figures.


Data last updated: 1 Sep 2026 · Source
Checked against sources: 5 Feb 2026
How to read this

Government Response tracks what the government said it would do (accepted, rejected, etc.).

Full methodology

Latest evidence

All 10 documents →

Costs

Total reported cost £3,767,395
Start not stated; to 31 Jul 2025 Source published 21 Apr 2026 DHSC Parliamentary written answer 125457, answered 21 April 2026

DHSC Parliamentary written answer 125457, answered 21 April 2026

Source and qualifications

Accounting period: start not stated; to 31 Jul 2025.

Source published: 21 Apr 2026.

DHSC Parliamentary written answer 125457, answered 21 April 2026

Breakdown and notes