Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse
IICSA
Wide-ranging inquiry into institutional failures to protect children from sexual abuse in England and Wales.
Where it stands
Public hearings were held on 316 days between March 2016 and December 2020. The inquiry has published 16 reports, most recently The Report of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse on 20 October 2022. The most recent government response on the record is Government response to the final report of the Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse, dated 22 May 2023. 45 of the 107 recommendations tracked here have no government response on the record yet.
Reports & recommendations
All 107 recommendations →- Accountability and Reparations Investigation Report
- The Anglican Church Investigation Report
- The Anglican Church Case Studies Investigation Report
- Child Migration Programmes Investigation Report
- Children Outside the United Kingdom Phase 2 Investigation Report
- Child Sexual Exploitation by Organised Networks Investigation Report
- 10 more reports →
Government response
Latest statement by addressee
"No statement found" means none was found in the sources searched, last checked 2 October 2026. Each figure is the latest statement from the body the recommendation is addressed to. Other bodies’ findings are shown on each recommendation and do not change these figures.
How to read this
Government Response tracks what the government said it would do (accepted, rejected, etc.).
Latest evidence
All 11083 documents →Implementation Reviewed By
Findings about the inquiry's recommendations as a whole
Costs
IICSA Total Expenditure 2015-2023
Source and qualifications
Accounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2023.
Breakdown and notes
Cost breakdown (to Mar 2023)
Cost history (9 reports)
| Period | Total | Inquiry Legal | CP Legal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 2023 | £6,971,878 | £773,728 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2022-23 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2022 to 31 Mar 2023. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2023 (cum.) | £189,963,980 | £52,079,728 | - |
IICSA Total Expenditure 2015-2023 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2023. Cumulative total over 8 years. The inquiry ran from 2015 to October 2022, with final report published 20 October 2022. Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements.
|
| Mar 2022 | £14,191,559 | £2,606,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2021-22 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2021 to 31 Mar 2022. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2021 | £32,693,623 | £8,393,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2020-21 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2020 to 31 Mar 2021. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2020 | £35,321,985 | £11,018,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2019-20 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2019 to 31 Mar 2020. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2019 | £36,673,118 | £10,871,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2018-19 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2018 to 31 Mar 2019. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2018 | £28,550,591 | £8,820,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2017-18 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2017 to 31 Mar 2018. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2017 | £20,836,063 | £5,628,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2016-17 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2016 to 31 Mar 2017. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|
| Mar 2016 | £14,725,163 | £3,970,000 | - |
IICSA Financial Report 2015-16 Source and qualificationsAccounting period: 1 Apr 2015 to 31 Mar 2016. Annual expenditure (not cumulative). Core participant legal costs were funded but not separately reported in IICSA financial statements - they may be included within Legal or Other costs. Other costs include safeguarding services, consultancy, and stationery.
|